College of Education & Human Services

The People of Counselor Education

Counselors training counselors...

The faculty and staff of the Counselor Education Graduate Program (CNED) is a group of diverse, award-winning, and nationally recognized faculty. CNED faculty participate in local, state, regional, national, and international professional arenas. They are licensed and certified in counseling and hold advanced degrees from well-regarded programs. CNED faculty are recognized for excellence in teaching and service to the profession and have been awarded honors for their scholarly publications. Several faculty have been awarded delivery-based grants that provide service to disenfranchised populations. Additionally, the faculty sit on several review panels for national peer-reviewed publication outlets. CNED faculty offer students quality, integrity, and a nationally-accredited program of study.


Phone: 309/762-1876 | Fax: 309/762-6989

Click on pictures for more information and/or office hours.

Holly Nikels
Holly J. Nikels

Professor / Department Chair

Office: Room 2423
Phone: 309/762-3999
ext. 62272

Rebecca McLean
Rebecca McLean


Office: Room 2421
Phone: 309/762-3999
ext. 62273

Leslie O'Ryan
Leslie Whisinnand O'Ryan


Office: Room 2415
Phone: 309/762-9481
ext. 62239

Carrie Alexander-Albrition
Carrie Alexander-Albritton


Office: Room 2417
Phone: 309/762-3999
ext. 62268

Matt Beck
Matthew J. Beck

Associate Professor

Office: Room 2413
Phone: 309/762-3999
ext. 62221

Haley Wikoff
Haley Wikoff

Assistant Professor

Office: Room 2419
Phone: 309/762-3999
ext. 62267

Adjunct Faculty

  • Dr. Duane Halbur
  • Dr. William Iavarone

*Adjunct office hours by appointment

QC Graduate Assistants

Phone: 309/762-3999 ext. 68011
  • Ellen Pappas, SCH Program Graduate Assistant
  • Andrew Parker, CMHC Program Graduate Assistant
  • Teja Johnson, Department Graduate Assistant

Professors Emeritus

  • Ed Hamann, Ed.D. (1946-2013) - Northern Illinois University
  • Bill McFarland, Ed.D. - Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Melanie E. Rawlins, Ph.D. - University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Beatrice L. Wehrly, Ph.D. (1926-2014) - Texas A & M University

CNED Board of Advisors

  • Emily Gordon - Family Resources, Davenport IA
  • Lori Luna - Youth Services Bureau, Moline IL
  • Matthew Martensen - QC Counselor, Davenport IA
  • Paul Phares - Robert Young Center, Rock Island IL
  • Jenny Evans - Pleasant Valley Community School District, Bettendorf IA
  • Lisa Miller - Cambridge School, Cambridge IL
  • Lindsay Owens - Davenport Schools, Davenport IA
  • Amy Zero - Rock Island - Milan School District #41, Rock Island IL

Adjunct Pool Invitation