Western Illinois University Anti-Racism Task Force Meeting Notes Friday, September 9, 2022 at 10:00 a.m. Multipurpose Room in the Multicultural Center

Present:

Lorette Oden ls-oden@wiu.edu Sterling Saddler s-saddler2@wiu.edu Tracy Davis tl-davis1@wiu.edu Rebekah Buchanan rj-buchanan@wiu.edu Merrill Cole m-cole@wiu.edu Darcie Shinberger dr-shinberger@wiu.edu Derek Watts dj-watts@wiu.edu Andrea Henderson AD-Henderson@wiu.edu Ted Renner t-renner@wiu.edu Hector Maymi-Sugranes hj-maymi-sugranes@wiu.edu Unable to attend: Devon Bradley dp-bradley@wiu.edu Jalen Carlos ja-carlos@wiu.edu Fiifi Godwyll f-godwyll@wiu.edu Kishor Kapale <KT-Kapale@wiu.edu>, Jim LaPrad jg-laprad@wiu.edu

Jim LaPrad <u>jg-laprad@wiu.edu</u> Macherie Placide <u>m-placide@wiu.edu</u> Rob Jeter <u>rd-jeter@wiu.edu</u> Michelle Narvaez <u>ma-narvaez3@wiu.edu</u> Jerel Jones jjones@macombpolice.com Kishor Kapale <KT-Kapale@wiu.edu Barry McCrary <u>bs-mccrary@wiu.edu</u> Shaozhong Zhang <u>s-zhang@wiu.edu</u> Tim Johnson <u>t-johnson2@wiu.edu</u> Ariahnna Hightower <u>ad-hightower@wiu.edu</u> Heather McIlvaine-Newsad h-mcilvaine-newsad@wiu.edu

A. Discussion began with reports from subcommittees related to what happened since we last met. Some committees were able to meet over the summer and some were not. Discussion about the charge for the committee, where we are, and where we are going took up most of the meeting time.

B. The following items/action plans were approved:

1. Curtis Pointer (WIU Graduate Student and WIU Undergraduate Alum) was appointed to replace Johna Lawens.

2. A new subcommittee structure was approved and subcommittee membership was slightly altered due to the restructuring. Essentially, a new "Student Success and Retention" subcommittee was formed. The new subcommittee structure now includes the following 5 subcommittees:

Effective and Sustained Communication Access and Inclusion Student Success and Retention Curriculum Faculty & Staff Retention and Promotion

3. Sterling Saddler has returned full-time to faculty and Carl Ervin, Interim Director of JIDE and the Multicultural Center will be the new co-chair of the ARTF.

4. New subcommittee membership list:

The Core Council

President's Senior Leadership Team TaskForce Co-Chairs (Lorette Oden and Carl Ervin)

Effective and Sustained Communication

Darcie R. Shinberger	Co-Chair
Ted Renner	Co-Chair
Derek Watts	
Jerel Jones	
Ariahanna Hightower	

Student Success and Retention

Merrill Cole	Co-Chair
Tim Johnson	Co-Chair
Tracy Davis	
Fifi Godwyll	
Curtis Pointer	

Access and Inclusion

Kishor Kapale Co-Chair Macherie Placide Co-Chair Rob Jeter Michelle Narvaez Carl Ervin

Curriculum

Jim LaPrad Rebekah Buchanan Barry McCrary **Devon Bradley**

Co-Chair Co-Chair

Faculty & Staff Retention and Promotion

Lorette Oden Co-Chair Heather Mcllvaine-Newsad Co-Chair Hector Maymi-Sugranes Jalen Carlos

5. Subcommittee meetings should convene as soon as possible using the following guide: "The WIU Task Force's first objective will be to identify anti-racism initiatives and advise/support the creation of the University's Diversity Plan."

In order to implement these objectives, the following suggestions for moving forward are offered:

- a) Reflect on the objectives and gather subcommittee members' views and ideas. Discuss where we have been, where we are and then brainstorm ideas for moving forward
- b) Identify who (individuals and groups) needs to be included in terms gathering data (e.g. focus groups, interviews) about effective anti-racism initiatives and ideas to integrate into a University Diversity Plan.
- c) Gather data related to possible anti-racism initiatives and the creation of a University Diversity Plan.

- d) Review what SIU-E report said.
- e) Report subcommittee progress by the last day of each month. Send (at least) monthly reports to the TaskForce Co-Chairs and Effective and Sustained Communication Co-Chairs regarding meetings, groups or individuals who the subcommittee has met with, and any appropriate details to share publicly.

6) ARTF Co-Chairs will schedule the next ARTF meeting and invite the Provost's team to address the ARTF and respond to questions.