University Technology

Instructional/Scholarly Alliance

Instructional/Scholarly Alliance

The Instructional/Scholarly Alliance (indicated in green on the accompanying diagram) evaluates IT-related ideas submitted by the WIU community that impact the teaching, learning and research processes of the University.  This is a working group that considers ideas and develops formal proposals that it submits to the IT Governance Council. The alliance may work directly with individuals who submitted ideas to formalize these proposals, IT technical resources in University Technology, AIMS, and ESS, and it may also need to reach out to vendors during this process.  While some of its work is conducted outside of meetings, the University community is invited to attend when the group meets as an alliance. It also keeps the University community informed of its work and decisions by recording and publishing notes and minutes. One of its co-chairs also serves as a member of the Executive Committee.

Its membership includes five faculty members representing each of the colleges and the University Libraries.  They are to be appointed from Council For Instructional Technology (CIT) by the Faculty Senate. In addition, one at-large faculty member who is not serving on CIT is to be appointed by the Faculty Senate. At least one of these six faculty members must be from the Quad Cities campus. A representative from the Office of the Registrar and a department chair (appointed by the Chairs' Council) also serve on this Alliance. The student government associations will collaborate to appoint a graduate and undergraduate student.

At least one of the co-chairs of the Instructional/Scholarly Alliance must be a faculty member. A faculty member co-chair must represent the Alliance on the Executive Committee. Students do not serve as co-chair.



  • Jonathan Day, CIT, Macomb campus faculty, representing CAS/Political Science (CIT ends fall 2017)
  • Charles Malone, CIT, Macomb campus faculty, representing University Libraries (CIT ends fall 2018)


  • Bree McEwan, CIT, Macomb campus faculty, representing COFAC/Communication (CIT, ends fall 2017)
  • Sharon Stevens CIT, Macomb campus faculty, representing COEHS/Educational Studies (CIT, ends fall 2016)
  • Keith Boeckelman, Political Science Department, representing the Chairs Council
  • Angela Lynn, Registrar, Macomb campus representing the Office of the Registrar
  • Douglas Druckenmiller,CIT, Quad City campus faculty, representing Quad Cities Faculty (CIT rep. ends fall 2016)
  • Sean Cordes, Macomb campus faculty
  • George Mangalaraj, CIT, Macomb campus faculty Computer Sciences, representing Business and Technology (CIT, ends fall 2018)
  • Andrew Kauppi, Undergraduate Student representative
  • Graduate Student representative  (awaiting appointment by the SGAs)


Technologists from various areas will support the Alliance in an advisory capacity.  These include but are not limited to the following.




Questions? Click here to send an email to .

Alliance Meeting Information

The University community is invited to attend all IT Governance meetings.  You can also view the Alliance's minutes and notes by clicking on the link provided below.

Currently Being Considered By the Alliance