Office of Student Activities

Annual Leadership Awards Ceremony

2018 Leadership Awards Ceremony

The 2018 Leadership Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, April 23, at 6pm, in the Grand Ballroom.  Nomination forms can be found here and award descriptions can be found here.  Award nominations are due by Friday, March 9, 2018.  For more information, please contact Nick Katz at

2017 Leadership Awards Ceremony

The 2017 Leadership Awards Ceremony was held on Monday, April 17 at 6pm in the University Union Grand Ballroom. There were 139 nominations for 15 different awards this year. Below is a list of winners of each award.

Click here to see pictures of the event, courtesy of the Visual Production Center

Click here for the full descriptions of the awards 


William E. Brattain Award:  William Gradle

W. Garry Johnson Award for Excellence in Student Governance:  Rebecca Probasco, Dovile Sviruskaite, & John Kennealy

Gordon A. Taylor Student Leadership Award:  Courtney Powelson, Hayley Salata, Brenna Smith, Aaron Carr, & Kristen Kessling

Ralph H. Wagoner Award for Outstanding Volunteer Service on Behalf of WIU: Summer Tracy

Ronald D. Gierhan Award for Outstanding Quiet Influence by an Individual: Grant Reed

Cari Sheppard Emerging Student Leader Award: Connor Shinberger

Outstanding Executive Board Member in an Organization: Brandon Santana

Outstanding Student Organization Advisors:  Dr. Roberta DiCarmine and Jill Bisbee

Outstanding Student Organization: Dance Marathon

Most Improved Student Organization: Veteran's Club & University Union Board

Outstanding Multicultural Program: Paralympic Athletes (University Union Board, Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Administration, Department of Kinesiology, Disability Resource Center, Students for Universal Inclusion and Pi Kappa Phi)

Outstanding Volunteer Service by an Organization: Western's All Volunteer Effort (WAVE)

Outstanding Philanthropy by an Organization: Dance Marathon

Outstanding Co-Sponsored Program: Hazing Prevention Week (Greek Life Programs & WIU Athletics) 

Outstanding Student Organization Program: Western Leadership Challenge (NRHH & ROTC)


The 2018 Leadership Awards Ceremony will be held in April 2018. See this page for more information in late 2017.