University News

WIU Broadcasting Students Named Finalists for Nine State Awards

April 1, 2019

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL – Students in the Western Illinois University Department of Broadcasting and Journalism have been named finalists for nine state broadcasting awards.

The students have won either first or second place in news and sports categories in the Students in Illinois News Broadcasters Association (SINBA) competition.

Awards will be given to the students later this month at the Illinois News Broadcasters Association (INBA) conference in Normal, IL.

This year's WIU finalists include:

• Outstanding Soft Radio Program: Kyle O'Reilley, a junior broadcasting major, of Roscoe, IL

• Outstanding Radio News Reporting: Emily Stieren, a junior broadcasting major, of Springfield, IL

• Outstanding Radio Sports Reporting: Devin Christmon, a senior sports broadcasting major, of Springfield, IL, and MaKenzie Yearby, a junior broadcasting major, of Grandview, MO

• Outstanding Use of Sound: Stieren

• Outstanding Hard Television Program: Devin Brooks, a sophomore broadcasting major, of St. Louis, MO

• Outstanding Soft Television Program: Marcellus Angel, a junior broadcasting major of Milan, IL

• Outstanding Television News Reporting: Brooks

• Outstanding Television Sports Reporting: Christmon

"I'm very proud of the work our students are doing in Broadcasting and Journalism," said Instructor Jasmine Crighton. "Our department sees their commitment and dedication all year, but it's nice to see it also recognized by broadcast professionals."

For more information about the WIU Department of Broadcasting and Journalism, visit

Posted By: WIU News (
Office of University Relations