University News

Board Grants Tenure

June 8, 2018

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB/MOLINE, IL – Twenty-six Western Illinois University faculty members were granted tenure by the WIU Board of Trustees at the Board's June 8 meeting.

Tenure requests were submitted by President Jack Thomas based on an extensive evaluation process at the department, college and University levels regarding the faculty member's teaching, research and service activities.

Faculty members granted tenure, effective Fall 2018, are:

College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Biological Sciences: Christopher Jacques
Department of Chemistry: Brian Bellott
Department of English: Jose Fernandez, Magdelyn Helwig, Alisha White
Department of Geology: Thomas Hegna
Department of Mathematics and Philosophy: Douglas LaFountain, Seyfi Turkelli
Department of Political Science: Kimberly Rice
Department of Psychology: Jonathan Hammersley, Kathy McGuire
Department of Sociology and Anthropology: Christina Davis

College of Business and Technology
Department of Engineering Technology: Brian Stone
Department of Management and Marketing: Yin-Chi Liao, Tae Yang
School of Engineering: Il-Seop Shin, Khaled Zbeeb

College of Education and Human Services
Department of Curriculum and Instruction: Boh Young Lee
Department of Educational Studies: Lora Wolff
School of Law Enforcement and Justice Administration: Thomas Meloni

College of Fine Arts and Communication
Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders: Amanda Silberer
Department of Communication: Josh Averbeck, L.B. Young
Department of Theatre and Dance: Lysa Fox
School of Music: Anita Hardeman, John McMurtery

Posted By: WIU News (
Office of University Relations