University News

WIU Students Inducted into Lambda Pi Eta, National Communication Honor Society

April 17, 2013

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB/MOLINE, IL -- Seven students were inducted into Western Illinois University's chapter of Lambda Pi Eta (LPH), the National Communication Association's student honor society, in an April 4 ceremony in Memorial Hall on the WIU-Macomb campus.

The ceremony, hosted by the WIU Department of Communication and the Pi Pi chapter of LPH, honored Lanie Bledsoe (Plainfield, IL), junior; Bethany Corbin (Roseville, IL), senior; Caity Elizabeth Hitchins (Plainfield, IL), junior; Jordyn Holliday (Villa Park, IL), junior; Kristin Jaskowiak (Colfax, IL), senior; Jason M. Miller (Naperville, IL), senior; and Kylie J. Wilson (Knoxville, IL), junior, for scholastic achievement.

A second ceremony is slated from 4-5 p.m. Wednesday, May 1 at the WIU-QC Riverfront campus (room 212), during which three WIU-QC students will be inducted. Monica Blair (Rock Falls, IL), senior; Samantha Palmer (Moline, IL); and Robin Trigg (Kewanee, IL), junior, will be formally recognized for their scholarship at that event. A reception will follow the WIU-QC campus inductee ceremony.

Communication majors and minors with at least a cumulative 3.0 GPA (grade point average), a 3.25 GPA in communication (with a minimum of 12 hours in communication) who have accumulated at least 60 hours are eligible for membership in the organization.

LPH, founded in 1985, is the official communication studies honor society of National Communication Association and an accredited member of the Associate of College Honor Societies. With more than 400 active chapters and more than 5,000 members nationwide, LPH recognizes, fosters and rewards outstanding scholastic achievement while promoting interest in the communication discipline.

For more information, contact Kevin Menken, communication department instructor, at (309) 298-1507 or via email at

Posted By: WIU News (
Office of University Relations