Clow Named COFAC Dean

From University Relations:

William "Billy" Clow, named WIU COFAC Dean

William "Billy" Clow, named WIU COFAC Dean

MACOMB, IL - William T. (Billy) Clow, dean of the College of Fine Arts at the University of Montevallo (AL), has been named the dean of Western Illinois University’s College of Fine Arts and Communication, effective July 6, according to Provost Ken Hawkinson. Clow will replace Sharon Evans, associate dean, who has served as interim dean since July 1.

Clow has served as the dean and a professor at Montevallo since 2009. Previously, he was the interim associate dean of the College of Liberal Studies and director of the School of Arts and Communication (2007-2009) and chair of the department of theatre arts (1999-2007) at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (UWL), as well as a professor.

He also served as managing artistic director of UWL SummerStage (2000-2007) and scenic and lighting designer, scenic artist and properties designer at UWL (1996-2007). Clow has worked as the head of production design area and production coordinator (1991-1996), Summer Dance Program production coordinator (1992-1996), production manager (1992-1996) and technical director/lighting designer (1989-1991) at Stephens College.

Clow has published professionally, and has numerous theatrical honors, including lighting design awards and certificates of merit from the Kennedy Center/ACT. He has served as the scenic and/or lighting designer for several plays throughout the United States.

He is a member of The Council of Colleges of Arts and Sciences and the International Council of Fine Arts Deans.

“Mr. Clow’s diverse experience in the fine arts will further enhance COFAC’s mission of providing an outstanding education to its students and to serve as the major cultural center for the region,” said Hawkinson.

Clow received his MFA from Illinois State University (1989) and his bachelor’s degree from the University of Missouri (1985).

Leave a Reply




You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>