Department of Physics

Welcome from the Chair

The Physics Department at WIU strives to provide every undergraduate and graduate student the opportunity to fully realize his or her potential in a learning environment dedicated to excellence and to giving each individual student the one-on-one attention they need. We rely on a long history of teaching excellence and an enduring commitment to involve all of our students in the excitement and challenges of physics research. In our department, you will be individually known by our faculty, and you will share in the unique opportunity of shaping the future of our department and of physics.

Last year we initiated an exciting new accelerated M.S. program, which provides high-achieving students the opportunity to complete both the B.S. and M.S. degrees in Physics within a five-year period. We have substantially revised all our degree programs in recent years, with the goal of providing each student the best possible preparation and an outstanding educational experience tailored to their individual needs. Our graduate program continues to grow and thrive, recently being ranked #13 in the nation by the American Institute of Physics for the number of M.S. degrees awarded. We continue to forge long-term relationships with regional high school physics teachers to provide them with needed resources and to ensure a smooth transition for graduating high school students into our undergraduate physics, pre-engineering, and engineering physics programs.

Our dedicated faculty members have cutting-edge research programs in the areas of experimental, computational, and theoretical atomic-molecular-optical (AMO) physics and in experimental condensed matter. New and exciting research opportunities have been opened up for all of our students, thanks to the professional activity of our faculty and students.

As Physics Chairman, I would like to invite you to explore our webpage and find out for yourself all the opportunities to excel that you would have as a student of physics at WIU. We welcome you to join us in shaping our exciting future.

Dr. Mark S. Boley
Professor and Chairman of Physics