Department of Mathematics and Philosophy

Association for Symbolic Logic

2018 North American Annual Meeting

May 16 - May 19, 2018

Western Illinois University • Macomb, Illinois


This is where any new information will be posted, such as schedule changes, speaker information, etc.

Invited Speakers:

Plenary Speakers:

JC Beall, University of Connecticut

A. Chernikov, University of California at Los Angeles
(Local distality and distal expansions of stable theories)

B. Hart, McMaster University
(In defense of ultraproducts)

J. Knight, University of Notre Dame
(Roots of polynomials in generalized power series)

R. Nagloo, Bronx Community College
(Model theory and classical differential equations)

D. Sinapova, University of Illinois at Chicago
(Stronger tree properties and the SCH)

S. Solecki, Cornell University
(Fra\"iss\'e limits and compact spaces)

A. Weiermann, Ghent University, Belgium
(Generalized Goodstein sequences and notation systems for finite numbers)


A. Marks, University of California at Los Angeles
(Descriptive set theory and geometric paradoxes)

T. Slaman, University of California at Berkeley 
(Recursion theory and Diophantine approximation)

Special Sessions:
  • Computability (L. Bienvenu and K. Lange)
  • Logic and Philosophy (C. Franks)
  • Model Theory (J. Freitag and J. Marikova)
  • Proof Theory (H. Towsner)
  • Set Theory (D. Sinapova and A. Tserunyan)

Important Deadlines:

Abstract Submission Deadline: February 23, 2018, at ASL Business Office (email preferred).  Click for abstract rules.

Student Travel Grant Deadline: March 9, 2018, to Program Chair D. Marker (email only: Click for application procedure.

Online Pre-registration Deadline: April 16, 2018  Click for pre-registration form.


Download ASL's version of the schedule here

2018 Calendar:

Feb 23: Abstract Submission Deadline - Contributed Talks
Mar  9: ASL Student Travel Grant Deadline
Apr 16: Online Pre-registration Deadline
May 16: Meeting Day 1 - On-site Registration, Welcome Reception, Annual ASL Council Business Meeting
May 17: Meeting Day 2 - Plenary Talks, Sessions and Tutorial
May 18: Meeting Day 3 - Plenary Talks, Sessions and Tutorial, Banquet 
May 19: Meeting Day 4 - Plenary Talks, Sessions

Banquet Information:

Date: Friday, May 18
Time: 6:30p.m.; Dinner at 7:00p.m.
Location: University Union Lamoine Room
Register for Banquet

Reception Information:

Date: Wednesday, May 16
Time: 6:45p.m.
Location: University Union William Brattain Lounge

Program Committee:

Tim Carlson: Ohio State University
Barbara Csima: University of Waterloo
Todd Eisworth: Ohio University
Michael Glanzberg: Northwestern University
Iraj Kalantari: Western Illinois University
Dave Marker (Chair): University of Illinois-Chicago
Mariya Soskova: University of Wisconsin-Madison

Local Organizers:

John Chisholm  (Mathematics) 
Rumen Dimitrov (Mathematics) 
Clifton Ealy (Mathematics)  
David Haugen  (Philosophy)  
Iraj Kalantari  (Chair) (Mathematics)
Doug LaFountain  (Mathematics) 
Jana Marikova (Mathematics) 
Susan A. Martinelli (Philosophy)
Mojtaba Moniri (Mathematics) 
Gordon Pettit (Philosophy)  
Brian Powell (Philosophy) 
Christopher Pynes (Philosophy) 
Nader Vakil (Emeritus - Mathematics) 
Galen Weitkamp (Emeritus - Mathematics) 
Larry Welch (Mathematics)