Related Images

release image
Download Print-Quality Image
Abby Lagemann and Mallorie Clark at 2009 Honors Convocation

Related Links


Mallorie Clark and Abby Lagemann Honored by History Department

Apr 19, 2009

Graduating seniors Mallorie Clark and Abby Lagemann have been chosen by the Department of History for special honors this semester. In recognition of their accomplishments, each will receive a medallion and an honorarium.

Mallorie Clark, a History Teacher Certification major from Geneseo, has been named Department Scholar, History Department Chair Dr. Virginia Boynton announced. Ms. Clark, who is one of the Department's four Emily Leonard Scholars, has earned a perfect 4.0 GPA since coming to WIU in the Fall of 2005. An Honors Scholar, Ms. Clark will graduate with the University's highest honors, Summa Cum Laude, in May 2009. Ms. Clark is a member of Phi Alpha Theta (the History honor society), Alpha Mu Gamma (the Foreign Languages honor society), Pi Sigma Alpha (the Political Science honor society), and Phi Kappa Phi (the university-wide national honor society). She has served as Secretary and Vice President of the Associated Students of History, as well as a member of the History Student Advisory Board. Ms. Clark has worked in the Foreign Language Department as a Student Assistant and Spanish Tutor, and has twice been a First-Year Experience Peer Mentor for History Department classes. She is currently completing her honors thesis and her student-teaching at Bushnell-Prairie City Junior High School, where she teaches four U.S. history courses, a Presidential history class, and a speech class. She plans to teach middle school after graduating. She has also been chosen by the Centennial Honors College as its College Scholar for Spring 2009 (see related article in blue box to upper right).

Abby Lagemann, a History Teacher Certification major from Pittsfield, has been named Department Citizen-Scholar, Dr. Boynton announced. Ms. Lagemann, who holds one of the Department's Emily Leonard Scholarships as well as one of the Department's three Cliff and Susan Haka History Student Opportunity Awards, will graduate Magna Cum Laude in May; she has also won a CAS SCAI Award (the only one in the History Department) and one of CAS's presitigious Norman and Carmelita Teeter Research Awards (given to the most outstanding undergraduate researchers in the College). Ms. Lagemann, an Honors Scholar who completed her honors thesis last semester, is a member of both the national interdisciplinary honor society, Phi Kappa Phi, as well as the national History honor society, Phi Alpha Theta. In addition to her outstanding academic record, Ms. Lagemann is President of the Department's Associated Students of History (ASH), and presided over ASH's successful quest for official WIU student organization status. Ms. Lagemann's contributions to the History Department also include regular efforts to recruit additional students to Western; she has participated in each Discover Western new student recruitment program for the past year. She has been accepted at Western for graduate History studies starting in the Fall, for which she has been awarded the Department's Darrell and Virginia Dykstra Scholarship and the WIU Foundation's Graduate Assistantship.

Ms. Clark and Ms. Lagemann were also nominated by the Department for CAS College Scholar, for College Scholar in the Centennial Honors College (which Ms. Clark has won), and for the CAS Student Council's Honorary Recognition Award in the Humanities.

More History Department News