Three Haka Awards Given for Spring 2009

Jan 2, 2009

Three outstanding undergraduate History majors will receive Clifford and Susan Haka History Student Opportunity Awards in Spring 2009, History Department Scholarship Committee Chair Dr. Jennifer McNabb announced. Matthew Bruning, a sophomore History-Teacher Certification major from Macomb, Micca Metz, a junior History major from Fairbury, and Abby Lagemann, a senior History-Teacher Certification major from Pittsfield, will each receive a Haka Opportunity Award of $500 for the Spring semester.

They join Daniel Clark and David Kubicki, Fall recipients of the Haka Award, as this year's beneficiaries of this relatively new scholarship, made possible by the generosity of Cliff Haka, who earned his B.A. in History at WIU in 1971 before earning multiple advanced degrees, and Dr. Susan (Verschage) Haka, also a 1971 graduate of Western (B.S. in Mathematics). Cliff Haka is now the Director of Libraries at Michigan State University (MSU), and Susan Haka is the Ernst & Young Professor of Accounting at MSU.

More History Department News