Related Images

release image
Download Print-Quality Image
WIU's 2010 Phi Alpha Theta Initiates, with Advisor Dr. Brice


Phi Alpha Theta Initiates New Members for 2010

Apr 11, 2010

WIU's Omicrom Omicron chapter of the national history honor society, Phi Alpha Theta, welcomed seventeen new members on Sunday, April 11, 2010. Four History graduate students, ten undergraduate History majors, and three undergraduate History minors were initiated into Phi Alpha Theta by Dr. Lee Brice, Associate Professor of History and Faculty Advisor for Phi Alpha Theta. Membership in Phi Alpha Theta is based on overall cumulative GPA as well as GPA in History courses.

The M.A. candidates in History who joined the honor society were Tim Ballard of Macomb, Aaron Davis of Rock Falls, Brian Hayes of Chicago, and Jeff Hill of Cary.

The undergraduate History majors initiated into Phi Alpha Theta included three seniors: David Kubicki of Oak Lawn, Kristin Leighty of Peoria, and Kaitlyn Sullivan of Galesburg.

Five juniors were among the History majors to join the honor society this Spring: Katie Spear of Byron, Abby Van Alstine of Macomb, Bradley Weedman of Knoxville, Angie Zaba of Westmont, and Brock Zinke of Mendota.

The two sophomore History majors initiated into Phi Alpha Theta this year were Lauren Armstead of Auburn and Valerie Corey of Stronghurst.

In addition, three History minors joined Phi Alpha Theta this Spring: junior Brady Childs of Bushnell and senior Chad Ewing of Colchester, both Political Science majors, and Laura Hutchins of Decatur, a junior who is majoring Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Administration.

More History Department News