Related Images

release image
Download Print-Quality Image
Phi Alpha Theta's new members, Spring 2008

release image
Download Print-Quality Image
2008-2009 Phi Alpha Theta President Amy Kallenbach

Related Links



Apr 20, 2008

Thirty-three WIU History students and two faculty members of the Department of History will be inducted into WIU's Omicron-Omicron chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national History honorary society this Spring. Established in 1921 to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, teaching excellence, publication, and the exchange of ideas among historians, Phi Alpha Theta endeavors to bring together students, teachers, and writers through a broad range of activities that assist historical understanding and research. The current President of the WIU chapter is Alex Heuer of Swansea; the Chapter President for 2008-2009 will be Amy Kallenbach of Mt. Sterling. Associate Professor of History Dr. Lee Brice is the faculty advisor for the chapter.

This year's Phi Alpha Theta initiates into WIU's chapter include Katie Anderson of Springfield, Daniel Arndt of Naperville, Nick Atwood of Ashland, Bethany Bekas of Carol Stream, Brent Brownley of Schaumburg, Jami Burbridge of Geneseo, Adam Carey of Macomb, Mallorie Clark of Geneseo, Michael Crall of Glasford, Jared Cullen of Rochester, Amanda DeBord of Yorkville, Devin DeCoursey of Batavia, Abigail Johnson of Chicago, Shannon Klima of Naperville, Ryan Langston of Park Forest, Shane Leadbetter of Montgomery, Josh McEuen of Milton, Dan Mieszala of Lockport, Darren Miles of Morton, Garrett Muscato of Naperville, Rob Peterson of Crystal Lake, Rob Ramaker of Keokuk, Iowa, Matt Reyes of Moline, Andrew Reynolds of Barry, Jacob Schiltz of Kewanee, Michael Schraft of Lombard, Robert Schemel of Rockford, Holly Sowlles of Macomb, Carl Spath of Petersburg, Myra Stowe of Herscher, James Walden of Orion, and Nicole Weinberg of Macomb.

In addition, Assistant Professor of History Dr. Febe Pamonag and Professor of History Dr. Ginny Boynton will be initiated into the Omicron-Omicron chapter of Phi Alpha Theta at the Spring 2008 meeting.

More History Department News