History Department's 2009-2010 Scholarship Winners

Nov 7, 2009

The WIU History Department is pleased to announce the outstanding students awarded merit-based History Department scholarships for the 2009-2010 academic year. Each of these students has a distinguished academic record, with great promise for the future, and we are delighted to be able to honor and support them in this way.

Four Charles Sadler Undergraduate History Memorial Scholarships have been awarded for 2009-10. This year's Sadler Scholars are seniors Adam Bednar of LaGrange Park and Sarah Garmer of Mendon, junior Cody Boland of Carol Stream, and freshman Luke Vander Pluym of Belleville. The late Prof. Charles Sadler was one of the History Department's most outstanding and beloved teachers until his untimely death in the early 1980s. The Sadler Scholarships provide $500 per semester for up to four years to outstanding History majors.

The three Emily Leonard Undergraduate History Memorial Scholarships for 2009-10 are held by senior Micca Metz of Fairbury, sophomore Amanda Doyle of Decatur, and freshman Elizabeth Greenwood of Milan. The late Prof. Emily Leonard was a Professor of Russian History at WIU until her unexpected death in the mid-1980s. The Leonard Scholars, all outstanding History majors, are awarded $500 per semester for up to four years.

The inaugural Victor and Mary Hicken Upper-Division History Scholarship is held by senior Sarah Farha of Quincy for 2009-10. Dr. Vic Hicken, retired Department Chair and Professor of History, and his family established this scholarship to continue his legacy of support for History majors. The Hicken Scholarship is designated for an outstanding junior or senior History major; it provides $1,000 per year for up to two years of study in Western's History Department.

The Susan and Clifford Haka History Student Opportunity Award for Fall 2009 was given to senior Sarah Garmer of Mendon. The Haka Opportunity Award of $500 has been made possible through the generosity of Cliff Haka, a WIU History alum and the Director of Libraries at Michigan State University, and Dr. Susan Haka, also a WIU alum and the Ernst and Young Professor of Accounting at Michigan State.

This year's Darrell and Virginia Dykstra Graduate History Scholarship has been awarded to History M.A. student Abby Lagemannof Pittsfield. The late Prof. Darrell Dykstra was our much beloved Professor of Middle East History and Director of Graduate Studies for the History Department for many years. After he lost his long and valiant battle against cancer in 2006, Dr. Dykstra's widow, Ginger Dykstra, established the Dykstra Scholarship to honor his memory and continue his legacy of support for the Department's graduate program.

These scholarships have been made possible by the tremendous generosity of our alumni, faculty and staff, emeriti faculty, family members of the current and former members of the Department, and many other friends of the WIU History Department. We thank them all for their generous support of our outstanding students.

More History Department News