Related Images

release image
Download Print-Quality Image
2009 Pasquini Award winner Roy Gully (center) and 2003 Pasquini Award winner John Kealey

Related Links


Roy Gully Chosen as 2009 Pasquini Award Winner

May 4, 2009

Roy Gully has been chosen by the History Department Graduate Committee as the winner of the 2009 David P. Pasquini Award, WIU's Director of Graduate Studies in History, Dr. Virginia Jelatis, announced. The annual Pasquini Award, valued at $500, is given each year by the WIU History Department to the most outstanding History graduate student who is also a full-time public school teacher. This year's recipient of the Pasquini Award, Roy Gully, earned his BA degree in History and Secondary Education at University of St. Francis in 2000. After earning his BA in 2000, Roy began teaching 8th grade American History at Churchill Junior High School in Galesburg. In addition to teaching, Roy has been head coach of Churchill's 8th grade football team and Churchill's co-ed track team.

Roy began the Masters program at Western in Spring 2007. He drives to Macomb from Galesburg for evening History graduate classes after working more than fulltime during the day. The principal at Churchill Jr. High writes that Roy "displays a true passion for history and gives the students an interesting perspective of the subject." Roy also serves on several committees for the district, including the committee charged with selecting text books for the middle school social sciences. Mr. Gully received the Pasquini Award from Dr. Jelatis at the 34th Annual WIU History Conference.

The Pasquini Award was established by the WIU History Department in 1996 in memory of Glenbrook South High School (Glenview, Illinois) History teacher, Social Studies Department Chair, and Head Cross-Country Coach David P. Pasquini, who earned both his B.A. in History (1971) and his M.A. in History (1977) from Western Illinois University. When David Pasquini died unexpectedly in 1996, his friends and colleagues chose to honor his memory by establishing the Pasquini Award, which has been given each Spring since 1998 to "a teacher who is pursuing an M.A. degree in History from Western Illinois University and who exemplified David Pasquini's passion for teaching and commitment to history."

Past Pasquini Award winners include: Mike Baxter and Travis Brockschmidt (both in 1998), Dan Trenary and Jennifer Robinson (both in 1999), David Potthast (2000), Linda Litterer (2001), Judith Greene (2002), John Kealey (2003), Robert Newman (2004), Andrew Haines (2005), Brian Schmidt (2007), and Ben Rees (2008).

More History Department News