English and Journalism

Spring 2010 Awards & Scholarships

The Department of English & Journalism held its 2010 Awards Night on Wednesday, April 28, 2010 at 4:30 p.m. in the Multicultural Center Activity Room, announcing the winners of twenty-six awards from all areas of the program. Students selected for over $5,000 in scholarships were also honored. We thank all the students, family, faculty and staff who participated, including the faculty and staff who judged award applications.

Congratulations to all the award and scholarship winners!

Department Awards & Scholarships

Department of English & Journalism Scholar of the Year Award
  • Kaley Rowe
Departmental Scholars
  • Kristen Dragos (English)
  • Lauren Finkler (Journalism)
Dameris Bagwell Memorial Scholarship
  • Tristen Johnson
Barbara and John Blackburn Scholarship
  • James Taylor
Dr. Paul Blackford British Literature Scholarship
  • Nicole Raddatz
Dr. Olive Fite American Literature Scholarship
  • Caitlin Barrett
Dr. Irving Garwood Scholarship
  • Matthew Hamilton
Lila S. Linder English Scholarships
  • Eric Anerino, Paige Brinkmann
Alfred J. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship
  • Christine Jach
John Merrett Scholarship in British Literature
  • Jessica Scadden
Nai-Tung Ting English Scholarship
  • Jessica Morton
Wanninger Foundation Scholarship
  • Adam Brown

Bruce H. Leland Essay Contest

Eng 100, Introduction to Writing
  • First place: Martina Rodgers
  • Second place: Robin Jackson
  • Third place: Gianna Russo
Eng 180, College Writing I
  • First place: Geoff Norfleet
  • Second place: Cody Brant
  • Third place: Jennifer Shackelford
Eng 280, College Writing II
  • First place: Diana Lozowska
  • Second place: Amber Simmons
  • Third place: Jackson Courter
Spring 2010 Awards Night

Journalism Awards

Best In-Class Writing in Journalism
  • First place: Ed Komenda
  • Second place: Corvales Crant
  • Third place: Marquita Berry
Best In-Class Graphics Work in Journalism
  • First place: Tim Stathis
  • Second place: Melissa Ballano
  • Third place: Kaley Rowe

Creative Writing Awards

Cordell Larner Award: Fiction
  • First place: Jeremy Jasper
  • Second place: Mark Piekos
  • Third place: Ryan Roby
Lois C. Bruner Literary Nonfiction Award
  • First place: Juliene Soltwisch
  • Second place: Matthew Hamilton
  • Third place: Jeremy Jasper
Cordell Larner Award: Poetry
  • First place: Dustin Burnaugh
  • Second place: Adam Brown
  • Third place: Kyle Furlane

Graduate Program Awards & Fellowships

Syndy M. Conger Essay Award
  • Jessica Morton
Ron and Leslie Walker Graduate Fellowships
  • Jessica Morton (Writing Studies)
  • Christopher Rose (Literary Studies)