Top Navigation

Side Navigation

Archived News


  • Congratulations to Erin Taylor who received her second Hope Award
  • Congratulations to Jonathan Day who received the 2012 UPI Soaring Eagle Award
  • Congratulations to Tucker Copi who was named College Scholar of Arts and Sciences for Spring 2012
  • Congratulations to Tucker Copi, the Spring 2012 Department Scholar
  • Congratulations to Tucker Copi and Jenna Verity, Spring 2012 nominees for the College of Arts & Sciences College Scholar Award
  • Congratulations to Victoria Starman, an alumni who received a prestigious internship with the Kentucky Legislature
  • Julia Albarracin and William Polley (Economics & Decision Sciences) participated in a panel discussion "Economics and Politics of Debt" October 11, 2011. Casey LaFrance served as moderator.
  • Julia Albarracin organized a World Celebration of Peace Day on September 21, 2011.
  • Congratulations to Robert Flinn, the Fall 2011 Department Scholar
  • Casey LaFrance was interviewed by BBC for the program "Beyond Westminster" on the topic of Elected Police Commissioners
  • Jonathan Day, chair of WIU's University Professionals of Illinois union, helped organize a food drive on campus April 25-29, 2011.
  • Congratulations to Greg Baldi who has been named co-winner of the APSA Haas prize for the best dissertation in European politics for 2010. The prize will be awarded at the 2011 annual meeting of the American Political Science Association in Seattle.
  • Congratulations to Rick Hardy who has been named the interim director of the Western Illinois University Centennial Honors College.
  • Janna Deitz was widely cited in the news for her commentary on the redistricting of Illinois. News sources, including the AP, MSNBC, Atlanta Journal Constitution, Salon, Real Clear Politics, Huffington Post, and Charlotte Observer reported on her observations.
  • Congratulations to Julia Albarracin who was awarded a University Research Council Grant for her work on "Latinas and HIV Prevention: A Multidimensional Approach to Empowerment and Health."
  • Congratulations to Kristin Olson, the Fall 2010 Department Scholar
  • The Department Welcomes Dr. Keith Boeckelman as Interim Chair for the 2010-2011 Academic Year
  • We welcome two new faculty members in for Fall 2010.  Gregory Baldi joins us in the area of Comparative Politics.  Jonathan Day joins us in the area of American Politics. 
  • Congratulations to Dr. Janna Deitz, recipient of the 2010 CAS Award for Outstanding Service.