Campus Connection

Campus Connection Submissions for April 5, 2013

Grants & Contracts

  • Andrew Baker, Agriculture—$13,700 from the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE) for "Growing Agriculture Science Teachers." FY13
  • Robin Hanna, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs (IIRA)—$1,250 from various sources for the project entitled "RETAC Services (continuous)." Ongoing
  • Richard Mathers, Sociology and Anthropology—$200,018.92 from the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS) for "Test Construction, Delivery, Scoring, Test Evaluations and Trainer/Course Evaluations." FY13
  • P. Lea Monahan, Nursing—$175,254 from the Illinois Board of Higher Education (IBHE) for "WIU School of Nursing Expansion Grant." FY14
  • Susan Nichols, Illinois Law Enforcement Executive Institute Administration (ILEEI)—$129,974 from the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board (ILETSB) for "ILEEI - Administrative." FY13
  • Susan Nichols, Illinois Law Enforcement Executive Institute (ILEEI)—$110,944 from the Illinois Law Enforcement Training and Standards Board (ILETSB) for "ILEEI - Programming FY13." FY13
  • Lori Sutton, Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs (IIRA)—$5,195 from various sources for "Continuum of Care Support (continuous)." Ongoing
  • Kimberlee Wisslead, Center for the Application of Information Technologies (CAIT)—$53,318 from the West Virginia Foundation for Rape Information and Services (WVFRIS) for "West Virginia SANE On-line Training." FY13-14

Professional Activities

  • Kathy Barclay, C & I, presented a full day IL Administrator's Academy entitled "Engaging the Family and Community in the Education of Young Children," in Downers Grove, IL, on March 1.
  • Linda Wade from the Malpass Libraries' Digitization Center has co-edited a book called, "Job Stress and the Librarian: Coping Strategies from the Professionals," to be released in July.
  • Also, forthcoming this April is her chapter, 'De-stressing and organizing in 10 minutes or less' in the book, "Time and Project Management Strategies for Librarians."


Vice President for Student Services Award Winners for February 2013

  • Civil Service Employee of the Month - Dianna Crum, Staff Clerk in the Financial Aid Office
  • Graduate Assistant of the Month - Ben Blodgett, Campus Recreation
  • Student Employee of the Month - Chelsea Bartlett, Admissions Office

Act of Kindness Award Winners

  • Liz Andrews
  • Cedricka Carver
  • Koryna Felt
  • Jim Fry
  • Amelia Hartnett
  • Michelle Harvey
  • Sam Jagust
  • Connie Kreps
  • Gabe Lara
  • Jacque McKenna
  • Brandon Meyer
  • Caryn Morgan
  • Michael Rogers
  • John Salazar
  • Megan Shaffer
  • Craig Wagner


Changes In Civil Service Personnel

New Employees

  • Billingsley, Matthew A., Equipment Attendant, Athletics, 3/11/13.
  • McCoy, Rosemarie, Collection Specialist, Billing & Receivables, 4/1/13.
  • Mohon, Jessica C., Financial Aid Advisor, Financial Aid, 2/11/13.
  • Swinderman, Larissa J. Collection Specialist, Billing & Receivables, 3/6/13.


  • Little, Ashley L., Admissions/Records Specialist I, Admissions, promoted to Human Resource Representative, Human Resources, 3/6/13.
  • Schroll, Timothy L., Customer Service Representative, Geography, reassigned to Customer Service Representative, Facilities Management, 2/18/13.


  • Vizdal, Dana M., Office Support Specialist, Center for International Studies, 3/1/13. Accepted A&P position on campus.


  • Clevenger, Larry D., Building Service Worker, Building Services, 2/25/13.
  • Townsend II, Chester, Building Service Worker, Building Services, 3/31/13.

CITR Symposium on Teaching, Research and Creative Activities

CITR hosted the annual WIU Symposium on Teaching, Research and Creative Activities on March 29, 2013. This event highlighted the innovations in teaching, research and creative activities from across campus and disseminated the same across disciplines. The program included a Faculty Showcase, presentations by active researches and a pedagogy panel comprised of practitioners of this years theme, "Leveraging Social Media."

Faculty were invited to submit proposals for presentation. Following a blind review process, the top three rated proposals in two separate categories were selected to be presented during the symposium. The categories were in the areas of Professional Research and Creative Activities and Research and Development Activities. A Best in Track Award was then awarded to the highest rated proposal in each category. The highest rated proposal from a new faculty member was also awarded. CITR provided each winner with a $500 stipend to be used to further their research.

This year's winners are:
Best in Track for Professional Research and Creative Activities, Ryan Gordon, Physics for "Electronic Symmetry in Iron-based Superconductors"

Best in Track for Research and Development Activities, Sara Schoper, Educational and Interdisciplinary Studies for  "Facebooking a Learning Community"

Best New Faculty Proposal, Ryan Gordon, Physics for "Electronic Symmetry in Iron-based Superconductors"

The March 29th event featured keynote speaker Jason Rhode, assistant director of the Faculty Development and Instructional Design Center at Northern Illinois University.  Rhode's keynote presentation, "Social Teaching Strategies for Engaging Today's Active Learner," will be available for viewing online at